Quality and Patient Safety

Diagonal Arrow View information that can help you make informed health care decisions.

Research Hospital Quality and Patient Safety

Hospital Compare
Make informed decisions about your health care when you’re faced with a hospital stay. For those hospitals that submit quality data to Hospital
Compare, you can use this information to compare the quality of care provided in these hospitals for certain services and conditions.

View Hospital Compare Diagonal Arrow

Hospital Quality - The Leap Frog Group
The Leapfrog program was founded by large employers as a means to encourage hospitals to meet specific quality standards and then report their progress towards meeting these standards to the public. Each year hospitals voluntarily report their accomplishments toward meeting four quality and safety practices which are also known as "leaps". In addition to these four leaps, hospitals are also assessed on making their quality and safety record available to the public, on instituting Leapfrog’s policy on Serious Reportable Events and on their participation in the Hospital Insights program for care related to five diseases/conditions.

Independent studies estimate that if every non-rural hospital in the United States implemented the first three leaps, it could result in 65,341 fewer deaths, 907,600 fewer medication errors and could save $41.5 billion each year.

Consumers can use the Leapfrog Hospital Quality and Safety Survey to compare hospitals in their area to see how each meets the standards established by Leapfrog.

Check Hospital Quality Diagonal Arrow

Research Doctor Credentials

Is my doctor licensed?

View the licensure of your doctor Diagonal Arrow

Is my doctor Board Certified?

Check if your doctor is board certified Diagonal Arrow

Research Doctor Quality using NCQA Physician Reference
The National Committee for Quality Assurance (NCQA) is a not-for-profit organization that is committed to improving health care quality. NCQA has developed quality standards and performance measures for a broad range of health care entities including physicians. Currently there are four NCQA Physician Recognition Programs: Diabetes Physician Recognition Program, Heart/Stroke Physician Recognition Program, Physician Practice Connections, Back Pain Recognition Program and Patient-Centered Medical Home Program. In order to be certified for these programs, physicians must demonstrate that they meet the high-quality requirements that help patients receive the best care that meets their needs in order to improve and maintain their health.

Consumers can use the NCQA Physician Certification Program to identify physicians in their area who have met the quality and performance requirements for a specific program. These certified physicians are dedicated to preventing devastating complications, to preventing deterioration of health, to assisting patients to manage their own health, and to ensuring the best outcome for their patients.

Visit NCQA web site Diagonal Arrow

Diagonal Arrow This icon indicates a link to a website that is not owned or affiliated with Assurant Health. This link is provided for your convenience only, and does not constitute a statement of endorsement, approval, or affiliation or favoring of the external site. Assurant Health is not responsible for the content, views, products or availability of the site, nor does it assume any liability for the accuracy or completeness of its information. Please read our Privacy Policy and Legal Notice for more information.